A Blog? NaNoWrimo, Fandoms, and Stuff

Hi everyone,

So as you probably can tell, I’m starting a blog. Hooray!

Why the sudden decision? Well, it’s not quite so sudden, at least to me I guess. I’ve wanted to do something in the nature of documenting my reading and writing experience for some time now, but I just wasn’t sure what to do exactly.

I started with the idea of YouTube. But, uh, I couldn’t even finish filming a video, much less try to figure out how to edit and all that. I guess I’m just not one for being in front of a camera much.

Then I decided to start posting my reading progress on Instagram, which has worked out splendidly for the past few years. But I still wasn’t feeling like I was doing all that I wanted to. I wanted to share more of my random thoughts, and talk about more than just the books I was currently reading.

After a while I tried YouTube again, but it just didn’t feel right. And then, I had a moment, like lightning had struck my head. And all I could think was, “Duh!” I’ve always loved writing, so why not have a written blog instead of a video one?

So here I am, spilling out my random thought process out upon the internet- I mean, gracing you with my brilliant words and charming sense of humor. *smiles winningly*

So that brings me to the question of why now? Why, if I have been thinking of this since about 2014 (I’m not even joking there), do I finally decide to do this? Well, it’s because I am participating in 2016’s NaNoWrimo, and I want to be able to track my progress, or at least be able to look back on who I am (was? these pronouns are starting to confuse me) and be overcome by nostalgia.

If you don’t know what NaNoWrimo is, it stands for National Novel Writing month. Every year, people from around the world join together to attempt to write 50,000 words of a novel in the 30 days of November. It’s crazy, it’s stressful, and it’s mind boggling to think about. But it’s also one of the most amazing, fun things to do because you can connect to the people around you and attend parties and write-ins, and generally help promote creative writing.

I attempted NaNoWrimo last year, but failed. Like, miserably. I was so busy that month that I had to quit about a week through and put writing in general on the back burner.

tumblr_n2jjoxrz4a1rw79q6o1_500

Sad, I know, but I did get back in the habit of writing eventually, and I even finished a manuscript over the next 8 or so months. So that’s great! *beams*

But I don’t want to limit myself on what I put out here. I don’t want to label it a book blog, because I also want to be free to post about stuff other than books (like movies or Gilmore Girls or other TV. Or Gilmore Girls, because the revival is coming up fast y’all).

raw

Maybe the best thing to describe this as is a fandom blog, because I will likely talk about books, but also any other fandom I happen to be a part of, in addition to writing stuff. Maybe this blog will run forever. Maybe it’ll only be November. Who knows? But I’m excited to find out.

I suppose that’s it for now. I hope you enjoyed, and I’ll see you in the next post!

 

Leave a Reply

