My plans for NaNoWriMo 2016

It’s that time of the year again! Yes, while normal people are probably preparing their Halloween costumes and setting up Harry Potter marathons, those of us participating in NaNoWriMo are currently FREAKING OUT.

giphy

Okay, maybe a bit of an exaggeration. For the rest of you. I’m still freaking out.

If you didn’t catch my last post, I explained what exactly NaNoWriMo is for all the newbies. After all, not everyone willingly gives up their sanity to write a novel in 30 days. NaNoWriMo stands for ‘National Novel Writing Month,’ and every November writers from around the world pledge to write 50,000 words in a month. And yeah, it’s exactly as insane and stressful as you think it is. But don’t think I dislike it; I absolutely adore NaNoWriMo with all my creative-writer heart. The community that this organization has built is absolutely amazing in that it is so supportive and helps to promote creative writing in everyone.

Which brings me to my plans for this year’s event. Last year, as you may know, I failed making the 50k word count by a lot due to a very busy schedule, and when I noticed this year that November was coming up soon, I wasn’t initially sure whether I was going to attempt it again. I mean, I failed, remember?

But as the days wore on, I noticed more and more people getting excited for it and talking about their plans for NaNoWriMo this year and, well…

To say the least, I couldn’t help myself. And it helps that this year, I have much more free time on my plate, having graduated high school, not being on a full class schedule for this semester, and not being involved in Orchestra anymore (oh, I just felt a pang of nostalgia. Oh Orchestra, how I miss you…).

As for my project, well, I just recently put it up on my NaNoWriMo page and I am pleased to announce my novel: “Across These Stars.”

our

Ah, so pretty. Well, at least I think so.

This is the project I started last year, but never got to finish. In fact, I have put this project aside for some time now, and when contemplating what to write for November I couldn’t help but think about how wonderful and fun this story was to tell. So this year, I plan to finish what I started, contributing 50,000 words onto what I already have written on this.

Now as for what it’s about, I had this idea I’d say about a year and a half ago to create a story that blurred the line between two genres: fantasy and science fiction. The way I decided to go about it was to take a very traditional fantasy story (that of a knight saving a princess) and putting it into space, with of course some twists to make it not so cut-and-dry. The result was what I’ve come to describe as a space opera, following the two main characters as they embark upon a quest to save a planet from destruction.

Here’s the synopsis from my NaNoWriMo page, because I like the way I described it there:

The universe is infinite, and so are the stories it has to tell. 

Galavanters are the universe’s knights and questers; they are bound by code and honor to protect the weak, save the lost, and guard the helpless. One of the greatest of these is Sir Carson, a hero who is perhaps a little elusive and more than a little charming. His life is riveting; rescuing maidens from towers, recovering lost treasures, fighting monsters. He’s the dream of every child and princess in the infinite galaxies, even if his morals might be a little skewed if you look closely.

Princess Ionia of the planet kingdom Wynoa has lived in a stone prison her entire life. All that she does is for the good of her people. She’s supposedly destined to change the future of her planet, and when a disease strikes the land, she makes no hesitation to start looking for a cure. But when the price is declared for her people’s liberation, her heart cannot allow her to pay. Instead she seeks help from a galavanter, and together they embark upon a quest to find a lost treasure so ancient as to be unheard of. Ionia believes that this treasure will be a path to cure her people, but Carson secretly doubts that it even exists.

I’m so excited to dive right back into this story. I’ve read back over what I wrote last year to get a feel for the story and characters again, and I had forgotten how much fun these characters and this world was!

So anyway, those are my plans for this November! I’d like to shoot for a weekly writing update, to talk about my progress, so stay tuned. If you’re interested in NaNoWriMo, you can find information and sign up (for free) at nanowrimo.org

And if you’re participating in NaNoWriMo this year, please comment below and let me know! What are you writing? Have you ever won?

One thought on “My plans for NaNoWriMo 2016

Leave a Reply

