NaNoWriMo 2016- week 1: Kuzco, Classic Sci-Fi, and Fair Food

Hello everyone,

We’re about a week into nanowrimo, and as promised I come bearing a writing update. This week has been crazy, but in the best way possible. It’s been a while since I’ve been in the habit of writing daily, and I admit it takes some adjusting. For the past few months I’ve been in the editing phase of my last novel, so I haven’t really had time to just sit at a blank screen and write. But I’m loving every minute I get to spend in my new space world I’ve created.

*note: the above quote is from Ray Bradbury, author of Farenheit 451, one of my favorite sci-fi novels. It’s an amazing classic, and I have been looking to the greats for inspiration in writing my first sci-fi ^.^

But enough of my rambling; you want to know about my writing week. Understandable. Well, I can safely say that so far I am SLAYING the word count (which is 1,667 words a day). I’ve been staying a consistent day ahead, and I don’t plan on giving myself a day off. My confidence level is currently about like Kuzco in the opening scene of ‘The Emperor’s New Groove.’

tumblr_n1r7d6j9xd1sv8pboo1_500

(just don’t throw off my groove XD)

As for story, well, I already had about 33,000 words toward this novel before NaNo, so it’s not like the story is new to me (but I’m not counting those 33k words towards NaNo). By now my characters have reached the point of no return, where they are now off on their quest and out in the real world, stretching those marvelous little wings with all the hope in the universe in their hearts. Oh, such happy little things they are. I hate to crush them, but I must for the sake of good story and character development. Thankfully, I don’t have to do that just yet, and they can simply enjoy adventuring for now. Their current mood is something like:

going-on-an-adventure

Because this is to chronicle my growth as a writer, I have  been compiling a list of the things I learned this week, in no particular order:

  1. I am a planner, NOT a panster (meaning I must prepare. I cannot write flying from the seat of my pants well)
  • When I first started writing, I totally wrote with no plan at all, just a few mental notes for a vague beginning, end, and maybe a few scenes I wanted to add somewhere in the middle. I can’t do that anymore. I don’t know if it’s because I’ve matured as a writer (cause there are plenty of mature writers that go off of little to no initial planning). In short, I’m a bit of a control freak; I have a certain way the story must go and I spend most of my energy getting from point A to B to C.

2. I must stay ahead, or I will be behind. There is no ‘staying on schedule’ with my brain.

  • This goes for nearly every aspect of my life. Either I plan ahead and follow a strict schedule, or I procrastinate until the last minute and barely- if at all- get stuff done.

3. Google docs helps me stay on top of my word count when I’m away from my laptop.

  • I use my phone when I’m out and about mostly. If I have a period of time free, instead of opening Instagram, I start writing. It’s helped a lot.

4. I like sarcasm and making fun of people WAY too much.

  • I already knew this, but there are two characters in particular that I have a bit too much fun with.

5. I have a hidden bitterness about not going to the fair (more specifically, for the food) that I was not aware of.

  • There’s a large scene I’m writing (more like a group of scenes) where the characters go to a fair-like event, and just describing all the heavy, greasy, fried food made me sad that I didn’t go.

6. Third person limited is harder than first person limited.

  • For me, at least. My last novel was the latter, and with this one I have to keep reminding myself that even though I don’t have “I said this, I did that,” I still need to be in tune with the character that is taking the spotlight of the particular scene.

7. I really need to get back into classic sci-fi, because my soul is yearning for it.

  • Star wars, Back to the Future, Ray Bradbury. These all have the vibes that I’m trying to send out in ATS (Across These Stars). It’s that kind of rawness that early sci-fi works had that I love the most in the genre. I haven’t read Bradbury’s martian series, maybe I should pick it up…

8. I just realized how appropriate it is that I am writing a novel set in space and the theme of this year’s NaNo is outer space 0.0

imgres

  • This realization hit me as I was writing this post. I am on fire.

Wow, I learned a lot this week. I feel educated.

If you want to become writing buddies for nanowrimo, please do! My username is gailthefabulaphile, same as here. I love the positivity and support from the NaNo community. Writers unite!

-Abigail (Gail)

 

Leave a Reply

