NaNoWriMo 2016- week 2: I am not a tank.

I like to think that as a writer, I have built up a sort of internal stamina to be reckoned with a tank. I like to think that I have the endurance of a marathon runner, able to chug ahead with all the unwavering confidence in the world.

The reality is that I’m more like an inexperienced sprinter that ate way too many slices of pizza the night before.

Last week, as you may recall, I was on top of the world; I stayed a day ahead on the word count, I wrote every day, I was consistent.

This week was different. While I didn’t get behind per say, I certainly wasn’t consistent. Some days I could only manage a few hundred words, while days like Wednesday I nearly wrote triple the goal. And I’ve been okay with that. I naturally write in short bursts (sprints if you will) rather than at a steady marathon pace. So, yeah, this week has been a bit of a rough one, due to uneasy plot writing stuff, as well as various external factors. Basically, life happened, and I’m not going to stress about the numbers.

giphy-1

(That being said I am sooo close to hitting 20,000 words *beams*)

But in other, lighter news, the other day I decided to really dig into character development (probably one of my favorite things to do). My characters finally have a certain direction to go, and now they get to interact with one another; fighting and joking and figuring out what makes the others tick. I have three main characters to work with, and they all have very different minds. So, how do I go about getting to know my characters, you may ask?

I’m really intrigued by personality tests; everything from introvert vs. extrovert to Hogwarts houses. There’s a reason people like doing this: as humans we desire to answer the famous who am I? question. My favorite of these (besides Hogwarts houses, of course) is the Myers Briggs test, which is based on the idea that there are 16 basic personality types in the world. I’ve take the test myself (INTJ) and I’m telling you, it’s scary accurate.

I did the test for one of my characters this week, and in the coming weeks I’m going to be filling out information for my other MCs as well. So I thought I would introduce you guys to Ionia, who’s name probably looks insane to pronounce (pst it’s eye-oh-nee-uh). She’s an INFJ-A.

screen-shot-2016-11-10-at-6-19-22-pm

You can see that each letter in the acronym refers to each category: introvert/extrovert, intuition/sensing, thinking/feeling, judging/perceiving, and assertive/turbulent.

So, a bit of information on INFJs:

  • They make up less than one percent of the population.
  • They see their purpose in life to be helping other people.
  • soft-spoken, but have very strong opinions.
  • strengths: creative, insightful, decisive
  • weaknesses: sensitive, perfectionist, can burn out easily.

I recommend this test for if you want to know more about your characters, or if you want to know more about yourself *smiles*. I know it isn’t everyone’s cup of tea, but for me, once I create a character it helps to see them laid out. That way if I come to a place where I ask myself “Would she do this?” or “How would he respond to this?” I can read back over it and it’ll be easier to discern. You can find the test at https://www.16personalities.com/free-personality-test

Things I learned this week (keeping with the trend of last week’s post):

  1. I love creating mythologies and legends.
    • I did a bit a world building, and it’s one of the best things about writing. The power to create whole worlds and cultures.
  2. Re-reading a book is better than reading a new book during NaNo.
    • At least, for me it is. I’ve been re-reading Harry Potter and the Halfblood Prince, and it’s been so much fun. I always have to have a book with me, and reading something I already know the ending to helps me keep me focus on the story I’m writing, as opposed to “What happens next in that book I’m reading I can’t think of ANYTHING ELSE, I MUST KNOW.”
  3. If you realize you made a mistake, skip it and come back to it later.
    • And I use the relative ‘you.’ Let me be very clear in that this does not work for everybody. But I had an instance in which I wrote two scenes in one order and then looked back and realized I needed them in a different place. So I made a note to myself in the document and moved on. During NaNo, there isn’t much time for revising.

I suppose that’s about it for this week’s update. I hope you enjoy these writing updates, I really like sharing them ^v^. What else? If you liked this post, like it below? Let me know in the comments if you guys would like to meet my other MCs in future writing updates, and I will happily introduce you 😉

Oh, and I also started a Pinterest board for ATS. I’ve added my Pinterest to this site down below (or off to the side, depending on where you’re viewing this from), so you can look at that if you want.

See you next week! -Abigail

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo 2016- week 2: I am not a tank.

Leave a Reply

