Gilmore Girls Book Tag!

Hi guys,

So as you probably know, the revival of Gilmore Girls is coming out THIS WEEK. And if you couldn’t infer, I’m about as excited as a small child on Christmas.

635810721455807135-834866263_giphy

I wanted to celebrate/fangirl over the show in anticipation of “A Year In the Life,” and I saw this tag floating around the internet, so I thought I would give it a go. If you’re not familiar with this tag, it’s basically a list of the main characters and that connect with books/book characters.

Lorelai: A character with a witty or sarcastic sense of humor.

I think I need look no further than Cinder from The Lunar Chronicles. She’s one of my favorite characters of all time, and I feel I connect with her on a deep level with our shared love of sarcasm.

 

Rory: favorite classic.

Hands down, it’s To Kill a Mocking Bird. I remember anticipating reading it in school, because I just had this feeling that I was going to love it. And my intuition was right; it stands as the only classic I have ever loved enough to re-read (well, unless you count Harry Potter as a classic. Which I do). Unfortunately I do not own a copy of this book, but I’ve been eyeing the pretty Barnes and Noble classic edition for some time. So pretty… *swoons*

Luke: a book you’re afraid to admit you love.

This one was hard, because I normally proudly proclaim the books I love. But for this one I’m going to go with The Cursed Child. It’s not that I’m afraid to admit that I like it so much as I’m afraid people will judge me if I admit how much I did enjoy it. And I did thoroughly enjoy it, much to the disagreement of a lot of people who read it. (Mostly I’m just really happy for Slytherin representation. My heart swelled with house pride)

 

Lane: a musical character.

I could think of only one character with musical experience that I’ve read. Whether that be that I just didn’t think of it or that I literally have read only one series with a musically talented person, I don’t know, but I’m choosing Celaena Sardothien. I loved reading the parts in the Throne of Glass series when she plays the piano, and as a musical person myself (violin) I can say that Sarah J. Maas totally nailed how playing music makes you feel.

 

Dean: your first book love.

I’ve always liked reading, but I think that the first book I fell in love with was Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine. It was the book that got me into fantasy, and I don’t know if I would still be a reader today without it.

 

Sookie: A book you devoured.

There are several books and series that I have absolutely devoured over the years, but the most recent is the Six of Crows duology by Leigh Bardugo. Both books I read this year, and I am still reeling from the ending of Crooked Kingdom (just all the feels…). Rarely have I read a series with so many characters that I love to death, and the plot is just so compelling, not to mention the awesomeness that is the Grisha.

 

Jess: book you love that gets the most hate.

I could go back to The Cursed Child, but to pick something different I’m going with the Trials of Apollo: The Hidden Oracle. I have no idea why, but people are starting to get frustrated with Rick Riordan and how he keeps writing more books in the Percy Jackson universe. I just don’t get it; I grew up with Percy Jackson, so I may be biased, but I will willingly throw my money at anything Percy Jackson related, especially if it’s a new book. I guess people think that Riordan is selling out, but personally I don’t care if the content is still good. And it is. Read the Trials of Apollo; you will love it if you love Rick Riordan’s other books.

 

Miss Patty: a book ruined by the hype.

I don’t usually let other people influence how I enjoy a book (see The Cursed Child and The Trials of Apollo) but there are a few exceptions. One is the Raven Boys, or just the whole Raven Cycle. I have been trying to read the first book for about a year now, but I just don’t know if I’m going to finish it. Don’t get me wrong, I like it so far, but it just doesn’t ever seem to be what I’m in the mood for, and it keeps getting pushed down further on my TBR. Oh! And I just remembered another (can I give 2 examples? Idk, I’m gonna). The Miss Peregrin’s trilogy. Same situation. I read the first book a while ago, but I just haven’t been in the mood to finish it, and there’s so much pressure to read them with the movies, and gahhhh….

 

Paris: an uptight character.

Hm, this is a tough one. I don’t know, I can’t really think of anyone who’s uptight and rigid…

MATTHIAS HELVAR.

If you’ve read the Six of Crows duology, you know exactly what I’m talking about. And I don’t think I need to explain him to you (other than this trait makes him one of my favorites) XD

Emily Gilmore: an expensive book.

For me, it’s The Queen of the Tearling by Erika Johansen. When it first came out, I scoured the shelves for the really nice hard cover with the bookmark ribbon, because it is beautiful, but it was almost thirty dollars. Then I happened to stumble upon it in the bargain section at Books-a-Million for less than ten. I think that deserves ten points to Slytherin, right?

 

(maybe I should mention I haven’t actually read this book. Yet. I’m going to…eventually…)

Logan: the most swoon-worthy book.

This one I came up with, because this character wasn’t in the original tag but I thought he deserved a mention. And I don’t think I’ve met a person who can’t at least admit that Logan is swoon-worthy 😉

And for this one I very emphatically choose The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern. This could very easily be my favorite standalone I read this year, and I remember just swooning at every page. The ambiance and writing style in this book made my little reader and writer heart melt, and just cannot gush enough about it whenever someone asks me whether they should read it.


 

So that was the Gilmore Girls book tag. This is the first book tag I’ve done on this blog, and I knew I had to do this one because hello? Gilmore girls. No further explanation needed.

Happy Thanksgiving!

-Abigail

5 thoughts on “Gilmore Girls Book Tag!

Leave a Reply

