Thoughts from a phone.

Hi guys,

So my laptop broke. Yay me. So this post I’m coming to you from my phone, not even being able to edit from my computor. RIP my dinosaur of a macbook😭

But rather than become absent until who knows when I can get a new one, I think I will be posting smaller, less organized updates until then?? I don’t know, maybe the lack of Disney gifs will be the only noticeable difference.

So I am officially fully on winter break! School’s over, my church has finished our annual Christmas production, and now I am free to parade around my house in my sock monkey onesie with hot cocoa and my cats.

You think I’m joking about the sock monkey pajamas.

I can freely say that I have done virtually NOTHING these few days. Well, I’ve done a bit of writing, but that’s not really work to me. (I mean, considering I don’t get paid to do it) ((but even if I did it would be fun work)). It’s nice to kick back and relax every now and then, just hang out with friends and family (or just alone, as I’m sure my fellow introverts will agree).

What have I been writing, I heard you ask? ATS? Um, sure, we’ll go with that…gah, okay not ATS. Something new, short, and entirely different from what I’m used to doing. I don’t know if i want to talk about it just yet, I’m still not sure if it’ll work out. But fingers crossed! And you guessed it – I have been unable to write on my laptop! Luckily I had my writing backed up so I can reach it from other devices, so at least I can still write on my kindle fire. It’s just made my whole writing process a bit more…interesting. I’d been using Google docs, but there’s no app for that for kindle fire. So I’m using a similar program called Jotterpad, which is a great program in and of its self, but just a bit annoying when you had a bunch of files on another app previously. But come rain or snow or broken laptop, I planned on finishing the first draft of this new thing over winter break and by the writing gods, I. Will. Finish. It.

But this whole ordeal has gotten me thinking about a few things. I came to the realization of just how much I rely on my laptop, for almost everything – school, writing, entertainment. I could spend hours at the table, in the same position, with my laptop in front of me. It’s kind of freaky if you think about it. And I was so upset when it broke, as if there was no other option and my world had come to a screeching halt. Which is totally unfounded and albeit a bit embarrassing. 

You see, I had a plan for winter break. I would write, I would blog more often, and I would do it all from my laptop. I’m the kind of person that likes to make plans and stick to them. I make lists that would rival Rory Gilmore’s. And if one thing goes wrong, my brain goes into panic mode. It’s a precarious way of life, to say the least.

And over these last few days, I’m wondering if my laptop broke for a reason. Not in a destiny way, just that it could have some use to me as a learning experience. Like in many privileged nations, I forget how blessed I really am. Even just being able to have the Internet itself, to be able to connect with people from around the world and have the word’s infinite wealth of knowledge at my fingertips, that’s something a lot of people can’t even dream of having. I suppose I’ve been humbled, or at least I realize that my laptop breaking is hardly something to freak out about. As I mentioned before, it was already going in the way of the dinosaur, it was only a matter of time before it went kaput.

Now, don’t get me wrong. I am getting a new laptop, when I can get one, because I do need one for school at least 😂. But for now, I’ll work with what I have and in the future, try not to panic and just be thankful for what I have. After all, isn’t that what Christmastime is about?

______________________________________________

So there’s some food for thought. No pictures or gifs or even probably any semblance of organization to my stream of consciousness. I think it’s important to have a thankful mindset during the holidays, so down in the comments, write one thing that’s gone wrong recently (like a flat tire or, I don’t know, a broken laptop ), and then something you’re thankful for. I’m thankful for my passion in writing, the Internet – where I can share my creative process with you all – and my family, who did their best to calm me down and help me realize how I was acting😂

Happy Holidays!

-Abigail

Leave a Reply

