Passion is weird.

I’m starting to think maybe I should create a folder for all my weird rambles.

Hi all,

So today, as I write this, it is Christmas Eve! And as per usual, my family is going to eat dinner with my dad’s family this afternoon, and we are cleaning the house. Yeah. Every year, it seems to be the day we deep clean the house, and not the week before Christmas. I have pondered the reasoning behind this for years, and I still am not sure why. Maybe because we have Christmas day at own house, and nothing sparks cleaning in our house like company coming over and a deadline. *shrugs*

But anyway, I thought I would ramble to you a bit (more), and give you a mini update on my writing.

I’ve recently started noticing a trend with my writing. Well, recently as in within the last year. I have started countless projects in my life. I mean, several novels, short stories so numerous that many have been lost to time and my *broken* laptop’s hard drive. I’m mostly talking about the longer projects, the planned novels here, and do you know how many of those I have completed in my life?

Two.

Technically one, since one of those drafts is a re-write of the first (although so much was changed that I consider them two separate beasts in my head).

Why? Because I lose intrest, my passion for the story dwindles. Is this a bad thing? I don’t know; my optimistic side likes to tell me that it’s good that a blessed few ideas make it all the way, because then I can tell that they really mean something to me. But right now, I’m in that situation again. I started writing what I think might be the right length for a novella, and I have just the last act to draft, but it’s been a struggle to finish it. I know I won’t have as much time to do it when school comes back, I am really intrigued by the idea, and it would be nice to actually finish something, so why is my passion dwindling?

Maybe it has to do with the laptop fiasco, maybe it’s that I really don’t want to write this story. Maybe it’s that I’m scared to fully commit myself. I don’t know. I don’t know if I should take a break, or if I should just keep trucking along.

The writing process is hard. And passion is weird. But I suppose the fact that I still call myself a writer even when going through the tough parts means that I really do love it.

-Abigail

Leave a Reply

