Top Books I Want to Read in 2017

Hi guys,

Welcome to 2017! Last year went by so fast, it’s hard for my brain to process that it’s over. So in the hope of being excited for the new year (and maybe to help it feel more real), I’m going to be talking today about the books I most want to read in 2017. These are in no particular order, and though it includes books that have yet to be released this year, this list is mostly books that I planned on reading in the past, but 2016 went by so quickly that I never got around to them.

First is The Diabolic by S. J. Kincaid and Heartless by Marissa Meyer.

2683691018584855

 

 

 

 

 

 

These books came out at around the same time last year, but between NaNoWriMo and other crazy things that go on around the end of the year (school exams, holidays, ect.) I never got around to reading them, even though I had been anticipating them long before their release dates.

The Diabolic is a science fiction novel in which families often employ ‘diabolics’, genetically modified humanoids who are raised and trained to protect one individual with their lives. Nemesis, the protagonist and a diabolic herself, is assigned to protect Sidonia, the daughter of a family who I understand is of importance in the Empire’s politics somehow? I’m not sure exactly, but I do know that Nemesis is put in a situation where the only way she can protect Sidonia is to take on her identity. It sounds so intriguing and political and I can’t wait to get my hands on it.

As for Heartless, I can’t believe that I have not picked this one up yet. I absolutely adore Marissa Meyer and her books, and I remember wanting nothing more from the world than another Meyer book when I finished the Lunar Chronicles back in 2015, but, well, here we are. If you know anything about Marissa Meyer, you know that she writes science fiction takes on fairy tales. This one, as may be implied by the title, is the story of the Queen of Hearts. I’m a little anxious that it’s going to have a sad ending, but I’m crossing my fingers that it will be every bit as good as the Lunar Chronicles.

Next is Carve the Mark by Veronica Roth.

carvethemark_roth_epicreads

I read Divergent way back in the day, and absolutely loved the first book. I can’t say the same for the latter two (especially that ending. Wow.) but I do like Roth’s writing style. She has a tendency to write very strong and interesting characters, and you can never know what’s going to happen in her stories. The issues I had with Divergent I think came with it being her first books, and I really do have faith that she’s grown as a writer. Also, this is a space book. How can I say no to that? Actually, other than that, I have no idea what this book is about, and I think I want to jump into it without knowing anything.  This book releases on January 17.

Next is Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake.

41nhwszqa7l-_ac_ul320_sr212320_

First of all, this could easily be my favorite cover out of all the books that have released recently. I mean, look at it. It’s beautiful. As soon as I heard about this book, I knew I would love it. It’s a fantasy series about a kingdom where every royal generation gives birth to a set of triplets, and when the time comes for those siblings to take the crown they must compete to the death to become queen. There’s this absolutely  fascinating magic system, where each triplet has a special ability (One is an elementalist, one can ingest poisons unharmed, and one can control plants and animals). Fantasy is my favorite genre, and this books sounds exactly up my alley.

Next is This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab.

untitled-1

I have heard nothing but endless praise for this author for years, but have yet to pick up a book by her. What makes me want to read this one first is what I want to say is the refreshing idea of a story with a male and female for main characters that do not fall in love, or perhaps the interesting magical world where there are humans and monsters living in one city that are always fighting each other. But if I’m honest with myself, the real reason I want to read this book is because I heard one of the main characters plays violin. And how can I not read a book where a character plays the same instrument as me? The first book came out this year, but the second, Our Dark Duet, releases on June 13th, so I have plenty of time to read this one before the sequel drops.

The last two are similar in that they are both series that have two books out so far, neither of which I have read even though I have had them on my TBR since before the first in the series came out. They are An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir and the Illuminae Files by Amy Kaufman and Jay Kristoff.

sabaa-tahir-an-ember-in-the-ashes-seriesilluminae-files

So highly have I anticipated these books, and I have not read them yet in the two years’ worth of opportunities I have had to read them. Why, you ask? I can only shrug at that. Time, wavering interest…I forgot? I don’t know, I’ve got nothing. For so long have I heard people rave about these books, that An Ember in the Ashes was one of the most artfully fleshed-out fantasy books of recent years, that Illuninae’s unique format put it above all other YA literature. And I do still intend on picking these up, as soon as I can.

An Ember in the Ashes, from what I recall, is a high fantasy series set in a world loosely based on the times of Ancient Rome. We follow a girl working as a spy for a group of rebels in order to save her brother, and a soldier in the empire’s guard who wishes to break free of the tyranny he is forced to live in. I love ancient Rome, so that’s enough to get my interest piqued.

Illuninae is a science fiction story about two people who flee their planet just as it is about to be destroyed. What has made it so popular, as you might know, is that it’s not told in a traditional format. Rather, it involves emails, logs, files, records, ect. The book looks massive in volume, but I’ve been told that because of it’s format, it’s a surprisingly quick read.

____________________

So those are a few books that I want to read in 2017. I don’t know how many I’m going to be able to get through, considering that there’s a lot, I’m a very slow reader, and there are plenty of other books that will release this year that I’m not aware of yet.

Another honorable mention that I don’t know where else to put is Sarah J. Maas’s books for this year, A Court of Wings and Ruin (releasing in May) and the final book in the Throne of Glass series, which is yet to be titled. Neither of these books have covers yet, so I can’t show you what they look like, but I am nonetheless thrilled for them. Both are finals in series, and I have long been a Sarah J. Maas fan. You can bet your bottom dollar that there will be lots of tears while reading these books.

I suppose that’s it for now, so I hope you have a wonderful New Year, and no matter what 2016 was to you, look forward at the future with hope and faith that it will be okay.

-Abigail

 

 

Leave a Reply

