Reflecting on 2016

Hi guys,

Normally one would post a reflection on the old year and then post a projection for the new one, right. Well, originally I wasn’t going to write this. I’ve never been one for new year’s resolutions, but I guess I kind of made one with my last post. Ugh, I just cringed. I don’t know why, but the idea of them makes me cringe. Maybe I’ll just call it a yearly goal. That sounds better.

But anyway, if you know me you might know that I am by nature a very self-reflection person. I don’t just look on self improvement as a new year’s thing; it is a constant building process that I am sometimes not even intentionally doing. I strive towards making a better me, in all things I do. Or at least, I try.

So I thought I would drop a list of things I accomplished last year, and also make a few goals, both personal and in my reading/writing life.

In 2016, I:

  • Read around 20-25 books. I don’t know the exact number, but that’s a pretty solid number for me.
  • I wrote a book! I don’t mention it often, because I finished the first draft and first round of revisions long before I made this blog.
  • I won NaNoWriMo for the first time, which I still beam at.
  • I graduated high school. Gosh, it seems like so long ago now. I can still remember my last day of classes. It doesn’t feel real that I’m not in public school anymore.
  • Speaking of high school, my school’s Orchestra made it to the State level of MPA (musical performance assessment. Basically we play songs that we’ve practiced all year and they grade us on it). We were overjoyed when we got straight superiors. I remember thinking “Wow, what a way to end my senior year.”
  • I completed my first semester of college, without feeling like I was dying. I make a few friends, I was reunited with old ones. I expected college to be something that I’d be mostly alone for. But I’m not, and I now have a confidence in myself that I can make new friends that I didn’t have before.
  • I watched the entirety of Gilmore Girls. And yes, I do count that as an accomplishment, or at least something cool.
  • And last but certainly not least, I started this blog. I had long wanted to start one of some kind, whether it was written or on YouTube or whatever. And I’m loving it so far😊

2016 has kind of been known as the year of the dumpster fire, but looking back on it confirms to me what I’ve been preaching to myself and other people that have been so depressed at the year’s events, that things are never as bad as they seem. That the world is a natural balance of good and bad, that negativity is almost always just the universe balancing out positivity somewhere, and in order to be positive, one need only to look for the light that follows and preceeds the dark.

I mean, I was just about to dismiss 2016 as a waste of my time, but then I would be calling my graduating from high school, my writing a book, my hard work with my Orchestra, a waste of my time. And it wasn’t. All those things were worth every bit of garbage that fed the dumpster fire part of 2016.

______________

So to project some positivity and motivation for 2017, I’m setting a few goals for myself this year. Nothing too crazy, nothing sappy or unrealistic. Last year, the only goal I made for myself was to finish the first draft of the book I was working on, and I did that and a round of edits. This year I’m backing off a bit from writing goals, because I have a lot going on outside of my writing life.

In 2017, I’d like to:

  • Finish the first draft of my current writing project (which I’m almost done with)
  • Read at least one book/series on that list of books for this year on my last post.
  • Pick up my violin at least a few times. I’m so out of practice you guys, without school to force me to play. I picked it up the other day and almost blistered my fingers X (
  • Continue with College, make more friends, ect. Basically don’t lose steam and keep doing what I’m doing.
  • Try watching Gravity Falls (which I have started here and there)

Notice that my goals are similar to some of the accomplishments I completed last year, but extended versions. I’ve found this to be an effective method for actually completing goals; the logic is that if I did it before, I can do it again, right? And they’re not crazy, lofty goals either. Last year, I had one really big goal, but this year I have a few more little mini goals. It’s about balance.

And yes, I do have a TV show as a goal. Like I said, I’m a very self-reflective person. Even my free time is scheduled in my mind. It helps me stay sane, like I don’t have to feel guilty during my down time. As for the show, yes I started watching a cartoon. And no, it’s not just for kids.

_________________

I still have so many thoughts on the concept of setting and accomplishing goals, but I’m going to end this post here before I write a novel XD. Maybe I’ll write another post about the general concept, idk.

I encourage you to make at least one goal for yourself this year. Nothing crazy or something that you can’t actually see yourself achieving. No, something little, even if it’s keeping your work space clean or washing the dishes once a week at a specified time. Only you know what works for you.

I suppose that’s it, so I’ll see you in the next post!

-Abigail

Leave a Reply

