Rapid Fire Book Tag

Hi, guys,

I went looking for a book tag to do (cause I really like tags but I don’t really get tagged in any) and when I found this one I thought it would be a good way to share a bit about myself to you guys.

____________________________________

Ebooks or Physical books?

My heart says physical books, but most of the time my wallet says ebooks.

Paperback or Hardback?

PAPERBACKS. They’re so much lighter and for me, more portable.

Online or in-store shopping?

Online shopping, because I don’t end up wasting half the day on Amazon and buying extra books I didn’t come there for…(sorry, I love you bookstores, but I always end up spending too much time and money when visit you)

Trilogies or series?

Series. I haven’t read that many trilogies that I liked, I’m sorry to say.

Heroes or Villians?

Can there be a middle here? My favorite characters are the ones that do the right thing but the book recognizes that in the real world, there are no absolutes…?

A book you want everyone to read?

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak. Very emotional, gritty read. It’ll change your life.

Recommend an underrated book.

Julia Vanishes by Catherine Egan. All the hype died pretty quickly, and I don’t know anyone else who’s heard of it. But great fantasy. industrial revolution- inspired. Witches. You know, a formula for awesomeness.

Weirdest thing you used as a bookmark?

I have consistently used the same bookmark for a year and a half now. I’m quite proud of myself because I used to lose them all the time. But for library books, I like to use the receipt they give me because it has the due date so I don’t forget.

Used books?

YES. Most of the time that means they’re cheaper. And I’m all for cheap books.

Top 3 favorite genres?

Fantasy, Science Fiction, Historical Fiction.

Borrow or buy?

Again, my heart says buy. But when that’s not an option, I’ll borrow from friends or the library.

Characters or plot?

Characters. I love a good heart-racing plot, but if it has boring characters I’m not going to be interested enough to finish it.

Long or short book?

As a chronically slow reader, short books. Even if the book is good, I tend to get antsy while reading long books.

Long or Short chapters?

Again, short, and for similar reasons. I get antsy when it seems like the chapter has dragged on for too long.

Name the first 3 books you think of.

(Note that asking me this question is like asking a hummingbird to count its feathers while it’s flying. I’m far too distracted to hone in on things immediately. XD ) Anna and the French Kiss, Off the Page, and The Neverending Story.

Set in our world or a fictional one?

Um…is this even a question? FICTIONAL WORLDS. Why would I want to read a book about our world when I could be reading about a land filled with magic and dragons and immortal beings?

Audiobooks?

Love them. Do I always have time for them? No, because most of my reading time is stolen bits during lunch and just before bed (when I’m half falling asleep). I like to listen to them on road trips though.

Do you ever judge a book by its cover?

YES. And I’m not ashamed that I do. In my opinion, it’s a job well done for the cover designer and marketers. (though you should look for the description before you go ‘ew’ at an ugly book and walk away. There’s a way to judge a book by its cover and not discredit the author)

Book -> movie or book -> TV show?

Book to TV show. From what I’ve seen, it give more room to be accurate to the story and really explore its themes.

Series or standalone?

So hard…but a standalone? There’s something neat about a perfectly wrapped story in a single volume. No waiting for sequels for a year. No wading through 5 books for months (because you know I’m a slow reader). That’s it. Just the 1.

________________________________

 So that’s it! Hope you enjoyed learning a bit about me and my reading preferences.

And as always, have a lovely day and I’ll see you again soon 🙂

-Abigail

Leave a Reply

