Who Am I? Tag

Hi guys,

So this post is inspired by the lovely Fadwa (@wordwonders) who did this tag, and I thought it was just so cool I had to do it too.

I’m obsessed with personality-trait stuff. Like, most of these questions are personality-trait questions I already know about myself. When I meet a person, within the first few meetings there’s a pretty good question I’ve asked them what their Hogwarts house and Myers-Briggs personality is. I just think it’s so interesting!

1. Meaning of my name

My name is Abigail, and yes, I do go by my full name in real life. I use the pseudonym Gail on the internet because that’s the name I write under. Abigail is Hebrew, and it means ‘her father’s joy.’

2. MBTI (Myers-Briggs personality) (Link)

intj-personality-type-header

I took the quiz years ago, and never saved the information that showed the percentages for each letter 😦 But I’m an INTJ-A. It’s known as the ‘architect’ or the ‘mastermind.’ Yeah, it’s just as weird but strangely interesting as it sounds. Here’s a bit from the website linked above:

“It’s lonely at the top, and being one of the rarest and most strategically capable personality types, INTJs know this all too well. INTJs form just two percent of the population, and women of this personality type are especially rare, forming just 0.8% of the population – it is often a challenge for them to find like-minded individuals who are able to keep up with their relentless intellectualism and chess-like maneuvering. People with the INTJ personality type are imaginative yet decisive, ambitious yet private, amazingly curious, but they do not squander their energy.”

“You are not entitled to your opinion. You are entitled to your informed opinion. No one is entitled to be ignorant.”

Harlan Ellison

0.8%?? Seriously, it’s a bit lonely sometimes. If you haven’t already guessed, yes I totally identify with this. Nearly everything on the website about my personality type was true. It got a bit scary, in a ‘how can you see inside my brain???’ way. [And that quote, also from the site, I totally agree with. It’s one of my favorites now].

I noted that it also says right off the bat that we’re often given the title of ‘bookworm’ as children, but are quite proud of it. My, oh my. XD

Strengths:

  • Quick, Imaginative and Strategic Mind- This makes me laugh cause it makes me sound like Sherlock or something (which I may take as a compliment). Yes. The site talks a lot about INTJs moving about life as if it were a giant chess board, and I hadn’t thought of it that way before, but yeah, I agree. Sometimes I think so fast other people can’t keep up, and I have to slow down and explain what I’m doing otherwise I just look, well, like BBC Sherlock.
  • High Self-Confidence- I mean, I’m proud of who I am, and comfortable in my own skin on most days. So yeah.
  • Independent and Decisive- I suppose so. I enjoy the company of others, but a lot of the time I work better alone; I get a lot more done, far quicker that way. As for decisive, I don’t know. I guess I know what I want in life, and go after it. I think things through meticulously, but at the end of the day I’m more likely to go with my gut full-steam-ahead than sit around and worry about my options. I pick an option that sounds best and go with it.
  • Hard-working and determined (if it piques their interest) – YES. You guys know me; you know that love writing, and I’m always up to it. Heck, I did NaNoWriMo of my own accord (and won), whilst in school and having other life stuff going on. Writing is the one area where I am truly motivated, and can discipline myself. Take a thing like, I don’t know, Math or Science, and I’m so lazy you guys…
  • Open-minded- Sure, yeah. I’m always one for rationalizing and changing how I view the world. I keep a bank of facts and theories in my mind that I live by, but if something comes along to contradict that, I have no problems with looking into it without being offended, and maybe even learn something new along the way. Often times, I’ve found that it makes me more confident in what I believe, because I’ve done the research.
  • Jacks-of-all-Trades – not so sure about this one. I guess I’m decent at a few things, though I wish one of those things was math, which according to Tumblr a lot of INTJs have in common.

Weaknesses (Oh boy):

  • Arrogant and/or Judgmental – Oh, wow, not holding back any pretense there, are you? XD Well, I try not to be arrogant and judgmental, but like with most humans, sometimes I just get a bit to preoccupied with myself and how right I think I am.
  • Overly analytical – YES. A hundred times, yes. I overthink everything. I live by a steady diet of cold hard facts. Efficiency is music to my ears. There is no question that I am an analyst. But sometimes analyzing a situation makes things worse, especially with people who are not analysts. MBTI marks those with the NT in the middle to be ‘analysts,’ and when working with people who have the opposite traits, – SF – sometimes it can get a bit choppy; I know some people who have SF and we run into problems that have to do with things like empathy vs. efficiency, discovery vs. morality.
  • Loathe highly structured environments – Again, YES. I am a planner, I like to have have a schedule. But if you give me a ton of rules to follow (especially if they are for the sake of rules and not efficiency, or just don’t make sense) then no. I’m not going to do it. I will literally just disregard the rules and say, ‘Well, that’s a nice rule. I’m going to do my own thing now.’ But, you know, it’s not always a good thing, especially when you’re working with people who like rules and really structured environments.
  • Clueless in romance- Haha, that’s so not true….ha…ha…*cough* (It’s so funny to me at how specific this one is XD )

This is probably the most interesting personality theory I’ve come across, and it was just so amazing to come across something that laid out my thought process so placidly. Like, everything from the analyzing everything in my life to the part that says, “Their sarcasm and dark humor are not for the faint of heart, nor for those who struggle to read between the lines, but they make for fantastic story-telling among those who can keep up.” (I just died at that part, because it’s so true…)

3. My zodiac sign.

I don’t believe in zodiac signs and the horoscope. But I did find something interesting when I looked it up. Looking at the dates by themselves, I’m an Aquarius, which I didn’t really relate to much at all. Only one or two traits where ones I agreed with. Then I found that the date I was born (January 22nd) is actually on the cusp of Capricorn and Aquarius. This means that I have a few common traits with both. But still, I don’t really follow it, though I will laugh at the occasional relatable Tumblr post.

4. Hogwarts house. (You’ll have to make an account, but I think the best way to find this out is to take the actual Pottermore quiz)

This is a surprise to exactly none of you; unless of course you’re new to my blog, in which case hello! Welcome! You’re reading the blog of a proud Slytherin!

slytherin.gif

Yes, I said proud. Funny story actually; I identified as a Ravenclaw my whole life, but then when the new Pottermore came out I was so shocked and took the test three times because I didn’t believe it when it told me I was Slytherin every time. But now I’m totally cool with it, it makes for some hilarious faces when all my friends thought I was so nice and innocent. The whole Slytherin/INTJ thing cracks me up honestly; it makes so much sense (need I remind you of the ‘chess-like maneuvering’ of the INTJ).

If you don’t know, some traits of Slytherins are ambitious, cunning, and quick-witted. I also like to think that a lot of Slytherins are very creative and passionate about their intrests.

5. My learning style (link)

  • Visual 8
  • Aural 12
  • Read/Write 4
  • Kinesthetic 12

I think this is sort of accurate. I think I learn well when the subject is explained to me with visuals, but I also like to be able to have something written so that I can look back over it later is (or more accurately when) I forget it. As for aural (having to do with hearing), its not hearing specifically helps me remember, its someone running through things with me step by step, which involves talking (though this might have to do with my uncanny ability to memorize song lyrics. If it’s in song form, I can memorize anything). Though, I do totally agree with my strongest learning style, Kinesthetic, which is basically learning through experiences or making the learning material an experience. I learn best through stories – I don’t kid when I say how much I love stories here on this blog. Not only are they fun, but they help me remember things and make lessons more meaningful to me. I learn most effectively when I have an experience to tie my memory to the skill I’m trying to learn.

6. Right/Left brain dominant. (The original tag has this site, but I used this one because I found it to be more accurate)

According to the site, I’m split right down the middle; 50% left brain, 50% right brain. And I knew this before; in some areas of my life, I’m very neat and by-the-book and highly structured, but in other areas I prefer looser standards and allow myself creative freedom. It’s all about balance.

The reason I used a different quiz than the one provided was because when I took that one, I noticed that most of the questions were centered around whether I am right or left handed, which has been linked to whether one is left or right brained (typically right handed people are left-brained, while left handed people tend to be right-brained) but for me, knowing that I was almost in the middle already, I knew that wasn’t going to be accurate, because though I think using a balance with the left and right sides of my brain, I am very right handed. I even played violin for seven years and it did nothing to bring more balance to my left hand. I can’t do anything with my left hand.

7. Blood Type.

I don’t think I’ve ever been tested for this, but both my parents are O+, so that’s what I’m assuming I am.

8. Career I’m meant to have. (link)

I got writer!! Phew, I was afraid I would get something else, have to re-evaluate my decisions in life or something…Yes, if you’ve been following this blog for any amount of time you probably know that I already am a writer…well, it’s not my job, but my goal is to *eventually* get published.

9. Divergent faction. (link)

I got Erudite. No surprise there, I knew while reading the books that I would probably choose to go there when I turned sixteen. Now, would I be able to pass initiation? I don’t know, because their academic stakes are super high there…if I remember correctly from reading the books, if you don’t score high enough on the test, you flat out get kicked out of the faction. I don’t know if I would be able to handle the high stakes (and stress), so if I was smart, I might choose a different faction to be in. Hmm…I feel like I would fit in well enough with the Candor crowd??

Technically speaking, everyone in present day is divergent. The people who were divergent were signs of humanity returning to what it was before all the wars and stuff. But it’s fun to think about what faction one would like to be a part of 😊.

10. What does my birth order say about me? (link)

I’m the eldest sibling, and according to the website that means that I’m a natural leader, ambitious, and responsible. Natural leader is the only one I’m kind of iffy on; I can step up and be a leader, if needed, but I much prefer to organize the operation behind the scenes and let someone with say better people skills do the talking (which, by the way, is an INTJ trait). And responsible? I guess; I look after myself, and in my friend group I’m definitely labeled the parent, the one who keeps all the rest of them from getting into trouble, but there are definitely things that I am totally irresponsible with. But Ambitious? Need I direct you to the Slytherin pride gif above??


 So that’s a ton more information about me than you ever wanted to know. I had fun doing all the quizzes. Even if you don’t write a post on this yourself, I would encourage all of you to do them, because it’s just so interesting and fun.

As always, have a lovely day and I’ll see you again soon! 🙂

-Abigail

Leave a Reply

