Unpopular opinions book tag

“Gee, Abigail, you’ve been kind of absent from the internet lately. How have you been?”

Hahahaha….Finals. That’s how I’ve been.

Hi all,

So my life has been crazy as of late. Honestly, this weekend snuck up on me, and I’ve been scrambling for the past few days to figure out what to blog about this week. I recently finished Never Fade, so be expecting a book review soon 😉 But today I’m doing a fun and relaxing book tag. Like with most of the book tags I’ve done here, this one was popular a while back on BookTube. So without further ado, here are some of my unpopular opinions regarding books.

A popular book or series that you didn’t like.

I had to actually open my Goodreads and look though my books to find some, because I don’t typically remember books that I don’t like. And there are quite a few more than I expected. The Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children series is kind of one. I read the first book and enjoyed it, I just wasn’t interested enough to finish the series.

Oh! This is kind of a weird one, but I’m not a fan of Victorian literature. I don’t know why; the writing is always stiff and hard to read, and the characters always strike me as dry and they all have similar backstories. I’ve tried reading countless classic Victorian books to no avail. Frankenstein, A Tale of two Cities, Dracula, Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, Pride and Prejudice…the list goes on and on.

A popular book or series that you like, but everyone else doesn’t.

The Trials of Apollo! Book 2 came out recently, and I’m so flipping excited you guys (once I get to it on my TBR…) I’ve talked about this before, but there are a lot of people who claim that Rick Riordan is selling out by releasing so many books, especially with releasing yet another series set in the Percy Jackson world. And I highly doubt this, but either way I don’t really care, because he still does amazing work, and my PJO trash self could not be happier for more Camp Half-Blood and demigods.

A book with a love triangle where the MC didn’t end up with the person you wanted them to.

Umm…I don’t read books with love triangles, really. Usually I won’t even pick up a book if I hear it has a love triangle in it. The only one I can think of is Throne of Glass, and well…if you’ve read it, you know how that went, which I’m fine with and rooting for. I guess it would count, because back in the day, I was a hardcore Chaolaena shipper. But like I said, I’m totally fine with the direction the series is going.

A popular genre that you hardly ever go for.

Contemporary/Romance. I love a good romance in fantasy, but in general I have a hard time picking up contemporary books at all, and I don’t know, a lot of contemporary romances just can’t seem to win me over. I have found some gems, though.

A popular book character that you don’t like.

Again, I had to think long a hard about this one. And the best one I can come up with is Jude from the Darkest Minds series, which I’m currently reading. I don’t know if he’s a character that a lot of people like, but my sister loves his character, and I did not like him at all. He was so annoying and ruined all the rest of the team’s plans with his utter lack of ability to take anything seriously. Obviously, if you liked Jude, more power to you. I just could not handle him.

A popular author that you can’t seem to get into.

When I go to read a book, I look more into the plot and story itself more than the author. If the book is by an author I love, then it’ll definitely get me interested, before I even know the synopsis, but if I’ve read a book by the author I didn’t like, I’m still willing to give that new book a chance if the description intrigues me. Maybe a better question for me personally is a popular author that I haven’t gotten into yet. And for that, I have many answers: Libba Bray, Scott Westerfeld, Neil Gaiman, Patrick Rothfuss, Victoria Scwab…

A popular book trope you’re tired of seeing.

Okay, so I’ve seen a lot of people misuse the term trope a lot lately. And I feel like I need to clear it up, because I’m a lit nerd, and I just can let it go. A trope, in literature, is defined as a recurring theme, or a motif.

(I could say the love triangle, but I’ve already established my dislike for it)

I think I stand for most people when I say insta-love. And the thing is, it’s not so much a trope as just the author not planning the romance right. Unless your goal is to have your two characters fall in love way too soon, then it shouldn’t feel that way to the readers. It should be outlined and planned so that everything flows naturally. You know, like the rest of the plot of the novel.

But that’s a really obvious answer so I think I’ll choose one more. I cannot stand the “bad boy” trope. Nope. Can’t do it. And most of the time, it’s involving the main character falling in love with the bad boy with the troubled past, and trying to ‘fix’ him and make him good again. I don’t think I’ve heard of anything more dumb. If this person is such a jerk, why would you want to be with him?? Oh, I see, because he’s hot…*eye roll* Please, main character, I beg you; find a guy who is actually worth your time and treats you like an actual person and equal, not this piece of dirt who runs on angst and his tragic backstory that he refuses to address.

A popular series that you have no interest in reading.

I could say Miss Peregrine’s again, but for variety’s sake, I’m going with 13 Reasons Why. This book has been “on my TBR” since it first came out, but now that we have the Netflix show, I think I’m finally going to admit to myself that I’m never going to get around to this book. I haven’t watched the show yet, but after finals you can bet your bottom dollar I’m going to binge watch it.

Usually we say that the book is always better than its movie, but what movie or show was better than its book?

Ooh I love this question, I actually have a post about book adaptations and how I think it’s a bit ridiculous that we as readers feel such overwhelming pressure to read the book first (here). I’m gonna have to go with A Series of Unfortunate Events. I absolutely adored the Netflix show, and though I’ve never read the books, I have to give credit to the show for getting me so invested in a story that I probably never would have experienced otherwise.

____________________________________________________

So there you have it; my unpopular opinions regarding books. And though I’m sure you already know this, I feel I must say that if you disagree with any of my opinions here, this tag or otherwise, that it perfectly okay. These are unpopular opinions for a reason, and I’m sure everyone has opinions that are different from what most people have, and that’s cool and what makes the world interesting.

And as always, have a lovely day and I’ll see you all again soon. 🙂

-Abigail

2 thoughts on “Unpopular opinions book tag

  1. bookmurmuration says:

    Know what you mean about Miss Peregrine. I was intrigued by book one before I read it, and loved the idea of using vintage photographs to plot a story. I bought the sequel secondhand. It is still on my TBR 18 months later.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

