Announcement Post – My Plans for the Summer! (2017)

Hi guys,

Woah, everything is different!! What happened? – you ask, as you click on the post for this week, not expecting a surprise today. Yes, I’ve been experimenting with stuff a lot in these beginning months of blogging. And yes, I think this look is here to stay – I much prefer the simpler style. Thank you guys for putting up with my antics and ADD. 😂

But do you hear that? Yes, it’s the sound of school bells ringing all across my home town, cause SCHOOL IS OUT! And those who aren’t out yet are in their last remaining weeks. But for me, finals are over, and with that comes the bliss of lazy summer days, spent on the beach or at a park…

Well, if I’m totally honest, I’m probably going to be spending most of my days inside. Where there’s air conditioning. Seriously, even though I live an hour from the beach, I rarely go, because between the 90+ degree heat and all the tourists, summers in Florida are not a piece of cake. Best stay inside with my books.

Anyway, I’ve had some ideas for stuff that I want to do this summer, and a big part of it is here, on the internet – you know, that thing that I do other than reading when it’s 95 degrees outside. I’ve actually been out of school for a few weeks, but the public schools I volunteer at weren’t out yet, so I decided to wait until my schedule officially calmed down. And now it has, so I can finally share my plans for summer break with you all!

1. Blogging

Perhaps the most relevant here. I want to start posting at least bi-weekly. I just don’t get the time to post as often as I would like during the school months. Well, could I post bi-weekly year-around? Probably, but it wouldn’t be as good of quality. I put a lot of time and effort into thinking up and executing ideas for this blog, and now I finally have time to allow for both quality and quantity. I’m thinking Tuesdays and Fridays will be my new upload days.

2. Bookstagram

During the summer and winter breaks, I can post almost every day, whereas when school kicks back in, I lose steam. So I’ve been thinking of ideas to freshen up my Instagram, and I thought I would mention it here. I’ve actually had Bookstagram for a few years; it’s where I first got into blogging about books and fandom stuff. I don’t think I mention it a lot, but yeah. It’s a thing, and if you want to see what books I’m currently reading and enjoying, you can follow it here.

3. Writing

As you may know, I finished drafting my NaNoWriMo project and have been making my way through editing. I’m almost done; in fact I might finish in the next few days. But the next step for me, I’ve chosen, is to share it on Wattpad. I’ve have thoroughly enjoyed it for years; I think it’s a great tool for new writers, or writers that want direct reader feedback or don’t have the resources to publish it conventionally (*cough* like this broke college student).

4. Reading

There are so many books that released in the past two months alone, not to mention this year. I’ve got a lot of books on my TBR that I’m so stoked to get to, I can’t wait! And that means more book reviews on here, so look forward to that in the upcoming months. 😉


And yeah, of course I have other stuff that I’m going to do in the next few months – hanging with friends, going to summer camp, my family will probably drag me to the beach at least once…but you guys probably care most about the times that you actually see me – when I’m on the internet, talking about books and other fandom things. I’m so excited for this summer – lots of fun stuff coming!

What are your plans for this Summer? Did you students survive finals? I’d love to know!

As always, have a lovely day and I’ll see you all again soon. 🙂

-Abigail

3 thoughts on “Announcement Post – My Plans for the Summer! (2017)

  1. breenysbooks says:

    Good luck on your summer goals! I agree with you about Bookstagram. It’s hard to keep up, and post every single day along with dealing with school.

    I’m a fellow writer who’s new to blogging and book reviewing, and am very impressed by your blog. I was wondering if you had any tips for newbie bloggers and book reviewers.

    If you have the time, please check out my blog @breenysbooks. I’d love any feedback. Have a wonderful day.

    Liked by 1 person

    • gailthefabulaphile says:

      Thank you, you’re so sweet! Oh man, I’ve never been asked for blogging tips before; I myself just started in November of last year. I guess for me, the key is finding a flow that works well for you. Whether that be a posting schedule, or a special blog layout, or for a while for me it was just the structure in which I wrote posts, you know, my writing style. I recently redid my whole blog’s look to have a much visually simpler style, because I found myself starting to lean more on what my blog looked like more than the actual content of what I was saying.

      You have an advantage that a lot of bloggers don’t have right out the gate, and that’s that you’re already a writer. It’s so hard to put what’s going on up in the noggin down on paper, but we’ve been practicing at that already! And at the end of the day, I’d say that your writing style is what’s going to draw people in the most, if they see a unique kind of person behind the words. That and writing in your own unique voice makes it fun!

      Good luck on your writing and blogging pursuits!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

