Anything but Books Tag

Hi all,

I talk a lot about books here, because they are one of my favorite things in the world, but today I come to you with a tag that’s different. Even though I’m categorizing this under book tags, I’m talking today about everything but literature. Here goes:

1. Name a cartoon you love.

My favorite cartoon will always and forever be “Avatar: the Last Airbender.” It remains to be one of my favorite shows, period. It’s got everything – adventure, great characters, spot-on humor, a plot that stays cohesive the entirety of the show. Really, it’s the standard to which I put all other shows, cartoon or not.

tumblr_m61m9c4NGo1r8tm83o1_500

2. What’s your favorite song at the moment?

“Hard Times” by Paramore. I just love the upbeat sound that contrasts with the lyrics. I’ve been listening to it a lot when I have a bad day; it has this exquisite irony that can pick me up at any time. Which, now that I write that out, sounds a bit weird. *Shrugs*

But I also feel obligated to mention Icon for Hire’s new album, “You Can’t Kill Us,” which I’ve been loving the past few months. This band seriously doesn’t get enough attention –  I feel like no one knows who they are.

3. What could you do for hours that isn’t reading?

Watching YouTube. Hands-down. I’ve wasted entire afternoons watching YouTube. Some people binge-watch Netflix, but I binge-watch my favorite YouTubers.

4. What is something you love to do that your followers would be surprised by?

I love musicals. I feel like there are two kinds of people in the world: people who hate musicals and people who like musicals WAY too much. I fall into the latter group. And I feel like I don’t talk about it much here, or anywhere, because I don’t get that many opportunities to go and see theatre. But man oh man, can I get obsessed with musicals. Currently Hamilton is my favorite. It’s just so good. Last year, I spent six months listening to nothing but Hamilton. And you think I’m joking, but I just did the math. And yes, I know most all the lyrics. I freak my friends out when they put Hamilton on in the car and quickly realize that I’m on a whole different level of nerd than they are.

giphy.gif

5. What’s your favorite unnecessarily specific thing you love to learn about?

I am a huge History nerd. I wouldn’t call myself a History buff per say, because I have a hard time remembering all the facts, but I do happen to know a strange amount of stuff on a range of very specific time periods or Historical things. I love learning the History of Disney Animation. Did you know that there’s even time periods ascribed to Disney’s animated films? Yeah, there are 9 eras, and I was a kid during the Disney Renaissance (when movies like The Lion King and The Little Mermaid and Mulan and a bunch of other really iconic movies basically saved Disney from tanking). And did you know that there is an official list of all the Disney Princesses – like with requirements and a crowning ceremony and everything? And Anna and Elsa aren’t on that list – that’s right, technically they are not official Disney princesses.

(If you’re interested, there’s this really awesome YouTube channel that’s made videos on their top 5 snubbed Disney princesses who didn’t make it on the official list, and why Anna and Elsa are not Disney princesses)

Sorry, I kind of got lost in my excitement. It’s just so fascinating to me. I love learning about the history of Disney, and all the fan theories. And it’s one of those things that’s too oddly specific to really get to bring up in conversation, so I just kind of drown in my inability to express how much this weird specific thing totally fascinates me.

6. What’s something unusual that you know how to do?

I don’t know how unusual this is or if it really counts as something I know how to do, but I’m really good at opening things? Like, if anyone is having difficulty opening a jar, or unscrewing a bottle, they come to me to open it. And I’m not even a necessarily strong person – like, I have no upper body strength. I don’t know why I have been gifted this ability. But hey, it comes in handy.

7. Name something you made in the last year and show us if you can.

I’ve been working on a particular painting since Spring Break that I want to share on here, but it’s not finished yet. You might have seen my progress if you follow my Instagram…(It’s Throne of Glass themed). I will share it here when I’m done though!

8. What’s your most recent personal project?

You guys know – it’s my sci-fi novel. Really, I would pick something else, but writing takes up so much of my time that I can’t really think of any other personal projects. It’s what I love to do.

Other than that, I’ve been keeping it chill in my writing life – or as chill as I can be. I’ve been just feeling out what I’m in the mood to write next, experimenting here and there.

9. Tell us something you think about often.

Oh geez, you want to go there? Everything. Seriously, with a brain as active as mine, if you can dream it, I’ve probably thought of it.

But if we’re keeping with the weirdly specific theme, I have one. I like to (self) sort characters into their Hogwarts Houses. I’m not talking about HP characters here; I mean, I like to sort every character – both from media that I consume as well as my own characters that I’ve written. I’m convinced that Chubs from the Darkest Minds is Slytherin. And I tend to write a lot of Ravenclaws.

10. Give us something that’s your favorite, but it’s oddly specific.

Easy. I recently watched “The History of the Entire World, I Guess” on YouTube. It’s my favorite everything now. It combines two of my favorite things: History and internet humor. I’ve watched it three or four times, and I want to just keep watching it on repeat forever. I even showed it to my sister, and she said that it helped loads with her world history exam.

11. Say the first thing that pops in your head.

THE SUN IS A DEADLY LASER. (Sorry my brain is still on the last question).


So there you have it, a bunch of weirdly specific things about yours truly. This is probably one of my favorite tags I’ve done, cause it’s outside-the-box compared to other tags.

If you didn’t catch my last post, I’ve released my sci-fi book on Wattpad! I have a tentative schedule of uploading a chapter every Friday, so that means that Chapter 1 releases today! If it’s not up yet, don’t worry, it will be at some time the day this post is up. If you’re interested in that, here’s the link to my story, One Between the Stars, where I have already have a prologue uploaded.

And as always, have a lovely day and I’ll see you all again soon. 🙂

-Abigail

Leave a Reply

