Totally Should have Book Tag

Hi all,

It’s time for another book tag! I seriously love doing these – sometimes I have a few just sitting around in my notes for whenever I feel like doing another one. So without further ado, this is the Totally Should Have tag:

Totally should have gotten a sequel.

I read a lot of series, so I’m used to having multiple books to bond with characters and fictional worlds – so I am especially crestfallen when I finish a stand-alone and just can’t say goodbye. This is Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon. If you read the book, you know how it ended, and I just want a book so bad where we get to see more of Olly and Madeline together, as well as get some closure on certain loose strings that Yoon left ‘up to the reader’s imagination,’ I’m guessing.

Totally should have gotten a spin-off series.

Technically, this is a spin-off series, but the Six of Crows Duology by Leigh Bardugo. I just want my favorite band of criminals together again! I want more Dregs shenanigans! I want more Kaz Brekker! (what I didn’t say that…) But more importantly, I think that this series could very easily have a spin-off, what with the crazy lives that the characters live, even after the end of Crooked Kingdom.

An author that totally should write more books.

You guys know my undying love for the Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern. And it makes me sad that it remains to be Morgenstern’s only book. I absolutely adore her writing style, and will willingly snatch up any writing she may put out in the future. Maybe some day…

A character that totally should’ve ended up with someone else.

I usually end up shipping whoever the author pairs together. I guess the only case here might be the Throne of Glass books by Sarah J. Maas, more specifically the first two. But like I’ve said before on this blog, I’m fine with the direction this series is going.

Totally should’ve ended differently.

Call me unrealistic, but I just wanted The Book Thief by Markus Zusak to have a happy ending. And I don’t think I’m even spoiling anything because come on – it’s a World War II story. But I still hoped beyond hope that it would not leave me in a puddle of my own tears at the end. Don’t get me wrong, it’s one of my favorite books of all time, but if you want to read it, be prepared. And have some tissues on hand.

Totally should have a movie franchise.

I’m going to switch this one up for a TV show instead of a movie, because I happen to like book-to-show adaptations better than book-to-movie ones. And I still stick firmly to the belief that the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series by Rick Riordan would make an awesome animated show. The whole fandom was just so let down with the movies…I want an adaptation out there in the world that would do these incredible books justice, and I think Riordan’s style would blend so well with a quirky cartoon.

(Although, I know there’s a musical out there and I am eagerly awaiting the release of the cast album.😁)

Totally should’ve had only one point of view.

I’ve never come across a book where this was the case. My favorite thing about books are the characters and for me, the more the merrier. Well, I think Allegiant might be it, but that was more of a case where having Four’s perspective didn’t really add anything to the story, but it wasn’t like it ruined the book or anything for me.

Totally should’ve kept the original covers.

I haven’t read this book yet but, The Diviners by Libba Bray. I absolutely adore the old hardcover edition, before they redid the series. I’m still going to read the series, but I just want the whole series to have beautiful covers like the original first one. 😓

Covers Diviners.png

(I mean, come on. Why would you ever change the one on the left? It was so beautiful…)

Totally should’ve stopped at book one.

Divergent by Veronica Roth. In my opinion, the first book rocked and would have been perfectly fine if it had ended right after Tris’s initiation. Sometimes I pretend like that’s actually how it is, and ignore the other two books.


It’s Friday, so that means that a new chapter of my book, One Between the Stars, is uploading today!

And as always, have a lovely day and I’ll see you again soon. 🙂

-Abigail

Leave a Reply

