Exploring Art – Graphic Design

Hi all,

So in my years, I have always loved art and have experimented with almost every kind out there – writing, drawing, pottery, painting, singing, even poetry. Some I’ve realized I don’t care for or suck at (namely poetry there) but others I have picked up and now love (like writing and drawing). But I’m always looking for new ways to express myself, or to learn how other people are taking the concept of art to new levels.

One thing I really love aesthetically is typography and digital design. I love finding a quote or funny saying that’s displayed so elegantly. I especially love t-shirts and mugs and things with beautiful graphic designs on them. It’s just so pleasing to my eyes.

Over the course of forming and nurturing this blog, I’ve dabbled a bit in some graphic design of my own, for blog graphics and things. But it wasn’t until a bit recently that I realized that graphic design in and of its self can be an art form. To make something as simple as a sentence or a word look aesthetically pleasing – that takes skill.

So the other day, I decided to try my hand at making a few graphic designs, of quotes from books and a few ideas of my own. Here’s some that I came up with:

I have no idea what to do with these, but I felt like they needed to be shared. I don’t know – what does one do with graphic designs that were made purely for art purposes? Post them online? Put them on Redbubble? I’ve thought about that for a while, but I previously had no art that I was really proud of to put up there. I don’t know, but I’m having fun. I think I’m going to keep playing around with this stuff, because it’s a new kind of art to me.

rapunzel_painting_by_kawaii_kurai-d85htlo.gif

Do any of you randomly create new art projects? What kinds of uncommon or underappreciated art forms do you guys like? 

And as always, have a lovely day and I’ll see you again soon. 🙂

-Abigail

One thought on “Exploring Art – Graphic Design

Leave a Reply

