Coffee Book Tag

Hi all,

Today I am combining my two favorite things in this world: books and coffee. Both keep me sane on a day-to-day-basis, so as far as I’m concerned, this tag was a long time coming.

And yes, I’m taking this as the opportunity to insert Lorelai Gilmore coffee-related gifs. We have a like mind, Lorelai and I, on the important things in life.

theodysseyonline.gif    giphy

 

Black Coffee – A series that’s tough to get into, but has hard-core fans.

The Mistborn series by Brandon Sanderson. There are some die-hard Sanderson fans out there, and I can’t seem to get into the first Mistborn book. Likely I just need to push myself through the first few chapters, but…one of these days… *glances nervously at the mountain of books I need to read*

Peppermint Mocha – a popular book or series that gets more popular during the winter season.

Yes, insert obligatory Night Circus fan raving. Every time winter comes around, I see a new wave of appreciation for this amazing book – which is fine by me. I love seeing my favorite book all over the internet.

Hot chocolate – favorite children’s book.

Okay, how can I not go with Percy Jackson here? I was really trying to find a series other than PJO, but…well, this is it. This is my favorite, without question. Amazing humor, snarky protagonists, and it’s educational (sort of)? That’s the perfect formula for a kid’s book for me. Not to mention that I think that anyone, of any age, can love Percy.

Double shot of espresso – a book that kept you on the edge of your seat from start to finish.

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo. Man oh man, was this book thrilling. The characters, the crazy plot – it’s all a wonderful whirlwind from beginning to end. I remember reading the first book at summer camp, and all I wanted to do was sit in the dorms and read.

Starbucks – A book you see everywhere.

As of late, I’ve been seeing the new release of two books in particular that have caught my eye: Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor (which I recently picked up) and When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon (which I may not get to for a while on account of my enormous TBR pile 😦 ).

Both are my most highly anticipated books of this year, and my excitement only grows when I see them floating about the internet and in stores.

Hipster coffee shop – A book by an indie author.

I don’t hear about many indie books, so sadly I can’t think of one that I’ve read. (If there are any indie books you love, feel free to mention them in the comments 😉 ). But I have The Curse of the Sphinx by Raye Wagner on my TBR. I remember it being an urban fantasy with Greek mythology, which sounds right up my alley!

Woops! I accidentally got decaf – A book you expected more from.

Okay, first, this would never happen to me. Death before decaf!

But as for the book, I’m going with November 9 by Colleen Hoover. Everyone around me constantly raves about Colleen Hoover, but this book just fell so flat for me. I found the romance especially off-putting. Maybe I’ll try Hoover again some day, but I don’t think it’ll be anytime soon.

The perfect blend – A book that was bitter and sweet, but so satisfying.

The lunar chronicles, especially Winter by Marissa Meyer. Reading this series feels like being on a roller coaster, in the best way possible. Especially where ships are concerned (of the fandom variety, although there are plenty of space ships too). And the ending filled me with such emotion…I can’t.

tumblr_mw23xboJtX1qgozy1o3_250.gif


So that’s it! Man, I want a cup of coffee now…

As always, have a lovely day and I’ll see you again soon. 🙂

-Abigail

Leave a Reply

