Recommending Books to Travel With.

Hi all,

With summer on the horizon and vacations brimming in our calendars, I thought I’d give a few recommendation on books that I think would be good to bring on your summer trips. Or, I suppose, whenever you’re going to be traveling, no matter the time of year.

And yes, this post is inspired in part by the fact that right now, as you read this, I am on a summer trip of my own. Summer camp, where the Florida sun is merciless and the beach is too far off camp grounds, and you can’t get cell reception unless you have Sprint, where there’s literally a Sprint tower right in sight of the grounds. Honestly, I’m tempted to switch companies just for a week every year.

Also, perhaps I should note that not a lot of these will be contemporaries. I don’t read a whole lot of the genre, despite it being most of the book-internet community’s favorite thing to read during the summer. No, this is for the avid fantasy/sci-fi lover, I suppose. These books are like an adventure that you go on while you’re on a real-life adventure of your own. Or at least, that’s the way I like to think of it.

going-on-an-adventure

1. The Darkest Minds Trilogy by Alexandra Bracken.

Especially book one. The characters go on this awesome road trip in a beat up mini van, and I think a road trip book is kind of perfect if you yourself are going on one of those. In fact, I brought the last book in the trilogy with me on my trip.

2. Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon.

This is a great book if you just want something easy and light – both in story and physicality. I run into the problem of heavy books a lot, as most fantasy/sci-fi books are hefty. I brought this one with me on vacation to Universal Studios in 2016, and it was the perfect little book to carry around in my bag for waiting in long lines. Yes, that’s right, I brought a book with me to an amusement park, and read it while waiting to get on rides. No one thinks of that, and I’m telling you – bring a book to Disney world or Universal or wherever you’re going. Because you will be sitting in near hour long lines, and you will get unbearably hot and bored.

3. Twilight by Stephanie Meyer.

Okay, I know what you’re thinking. Why? Just why? And also I didn’t know you liked Twilight! Well, I wouldn’t consider myself a fan, but I have been working my way slowly through book one, whenever I’m bored. And yes, it’s a bit annoying at times. But is it entertaining? Yes. And the main reason I’m putting this book in this list is because it’s really easy to pick up and put down. The plot is simple enough that I don’t have to refresh myself if I don’t pick it up for a few weeks, which is exactly the kind of book I want on a vacation. If Twilight’s not your thing, that’s fine. But if you like those books, maybe re-reading them might not be such a bad idea for your next trip.

4. Percy Jackson and the Olympian series by Rick Riordan.

(Or really any book my Rick Riordan.) I know I talk about this series a lot. But all of these books are so light-hearted and easy reads that I think they could make great traveling books. And just like the Darkest minds, these books have road-trip vibes. Or well, quests. But, same difference right?

5. Paper Towns by John Green.

I wouldn’t recommend any of John Green’s books for traveling (unless you fancy breaking down in tears in the middle of a road trip, or a plane, or an amusement park). But Paper Towns is one of his lighter books, and also has a road trip in it.


So there you have it – a few books for your summer traveling. I love reading on road trips especially. As I was writing this post I thought of quite a traveling/vacation tips for readers, so I might write one soon, I don’t know.

Have a lovely day and I’ll see you in a week!

-Abigail

One thought on “Recommending Books to Travel With.

Leave a Reply

