Writing Update – A Month in Review.

Hi all,

It’s been a while since I’ve given a proper writing update. I’ve been trying to figure out how best to go about it, without giving away content details. So I thought I’d do a little reflecting on the last month.

I started my new current work in progress on the 24th of May, just over a month from today. I’ve since then been experimenting, figuring out exactly how this new story idea will work, world building, getting to know my characters – you know, the usual new project stuff. And I think I’m now sure that this one’s going to stick and I’ll see to its completion. So, without further ado, lets get down to some numbers:

As I write this post, I’m at 45,466 words. Which totally blows my mind, because that’s almost a NaNoWriMo schedule. Then again, I’m only barely into act 2, and beginnings are far easier for me to write than any other part in a book. The rest of this book baby might slow down significantly.

I’ve been off at summer camp for the week (actually, I should be on my way home the day this post goes up), where there is no wifi access and I definitely did not bring my laptop (can’t risk breaking the child), so I had a week long break. Hopefully I got a few ideas after taking some time away from the keyboard, or at least by the time I get home, I’ll be going insane with the need to write, and will have the motivation to get through the bit of a slump I’ve found myself sinking into.

ktpng.gif

I’ve also been trying to figure out some sort of schedule for me to follow, because without school forcing me into one, I can become the laziest person on the planet. I’ve been waking up at 8 – 8:30 every morning since summer started because I hate sleeping in and wasting half the day. So now I’ve been giving myself about an hour to eat and settle into the morning before closing the YouTube and pulling up my writing program. I think it’s a good system. Let’s see if I keep it when I get back from camp.

Other things:

  • I’ve started using a new writing program. Previously, I was just using google docs, but this time around I’ve picked up Evernote just to see how it compared – and I really like it so far. So that’s cool.
  • I’ve been listening to Writing Excuses Podcast out my ears, so much that I’ve actually had to limit myself to how often I listen to it. They give some great advice, but if I listen to too many episodes, I get bogged down with the sheer amount of information that I feel I have to include all at once. So I’ve recently only been checking in when there’s a new episode, and then if I have a specific problem, I search for an episode on the topic.
  • I need to find a daily goal that works for me. In the past, I’ve tried to write at least 1,000 words a day – but this doesn’t work all of the time. Sometimes it just makes the whole process look impossible, like I have a mountain every day I have to climb. And I don’t know why – you’d think that after a while, I’d get used to the mountain. But I haven’t. Maybe I need to just kick myself, or maybe I need to rethink the daily goal. In the past, I’ve had scene/chapter goals, where in a given day I’ll write either a complete scene – or if the scene covers multiple chapters, then I’ll write to the end of a chapter. Maybe I need to go back to that.
  • I haven’t fully decided if I’m going to participate in Camp NaNoWriMo for July yet. I set up my account and everything, I just…don’t know yet. July is usually where the summers get a bit busy for me. I have a convention to go to out of state, I help with church things, I start panicking about the rapidly approaching school year… I can’t decide if I’m just making excuses or if I would really be over extending myself for NaNo. In any case, the great thing about camp NaNo is that you get to set your own word count goal, so I can adjust for my busy schedule if I need to. It’s funny, because I right now have it set to get to 30,000 words by the end of July but…well, we’ve established that I’ve slayed that already. But I think something like 20-30K words isn’t too unreasonable for me. Who knows?

tumblr_nml2tuhiy31tq4of6o1_500


So that’s what all has been happening in the last month in my writing life, more or less. I’ve had plenty of ups and downs already, and I know there are quite a few more of each to come. But that’s what writing a book is about, right?

As always, have a lovely day and I’ll see you again soon. 🙂

-Abigail

Leave a Reply

