About the Writer Tag – Original

ktpng

Hi all,

So this post I’m trying something new – I’m making my own tag! I don’t know very many fellow writers here in the blogging world, so I figured today would be a good way to find some like minds and get to know some writers.

This tag is all about introducing yourself as a writer – what you write, what kind of things inspire you, what you want to do with your writing, all that jazz. So let’s get into it.

What do you like to write?

Fantasy novels. I have written Sci-Fi but in general, I tend to write more fantasy than any other genre. It’s always been my favorite thing to read, so I guess it makes sense that I’d love to write it as well. As for a more broad sense of genre, I guess my work can be categorized as Young Adult because I tend to keep my content PG/PG-13, but that’s purely by personal choice. Some of my protagonists are older than the average YA main character.

What inspires you to write?

Mostly other writers. Sarah J. Maas and Rick Riordan in particular – Maas constantly dazzles me with the way she creates her worlds, while a lot of my sense of humor was honed as a kid through Riordan’s books. With my current work in progress, I have been thoroughly enchanted by Laini Taylor and her beautiful way with words.

I’m also heavily inspired by visuals; I actually create Pinterest boards for my works, to refer to for inspiration. Actually, if you want to take a look, I have one for my sci-fi book, One Between the Stars.

What kinds of stylistic things do you gravitate towards?

This question regards writing style – what makes your style unique from others.

I love to instill a sense of wonder in my writing. I love to take time and describe the beauty in things. I also love when I get to let my sense of humor shine – usually in the form of a sarcastic bit between two characters. It’s so much fun when it just rolls right off the tongue (or rather, my fingers). I can’t normally so that when speaking in real life because I’m so awkward. XD

What are some uniquely specific things you like to do regarding your stories?

Well, there’s the Pinterest board thing. But I also love to sketch my characters. I’m by no means a prodigy artist, but I think it’s fun to sketch and doodle every now and again. For my current work, I’ve been working on concept sketches for most of the characters, and I’ve found it helps me picture and describe them better. I also like to think about what Hogwarts houses my characters would be in.

Where do you want your writing to take you?

Hopefully, to the realm of publishing. I want to see my books in physical form one day, with spines and pages and everything. It’s been a long-time dream of mine for other people to read my books. And for me, as long as my books are out there, I think that’s more than I could ever ask for. I actually don’t strive for fame or fortune or anything like that (although that would be amazing). For me, I don’t have to be a best-selling author, as long as I get to be an author.


I don’t think I’ve even seen a writer tag before, so this was a fun experiment. 😄 If you’re a writer, then consider yourself tagged, and be sure to drop a comment if you do it so I can check it out!

My book, One Between the Stars, is available on Wattpad, and I upload new chapters about every week. Click here if you’re interested in reading it.

And as always, have a lovely day and I’ll see you again soon. 🙂

-Abigail

Leave a Reply

