Mid-Year TBR (2017)

Hi all,

Yes, I know it’s no longer the middle of the year. And yes, I know that most people who do mid-year TBR posts have already done them like a month ago. But I’ve finally decided that I’m going to make one, and better late than never, right?

I usually don’t know what to read during the beginning months of the year, because most of the releases I’m excited for come out in the fall, but I think this is the year of the catch-up for me – or perhaps the year of the finally-realizing-that-I-can-read-whatever-I-want-and-at-any-pace-I-want. You know, whichever one suits your fancy.

I’ve been on a fantasy craze as of late. My plan for the year was to read more widely in genre, but I quickly realized that I just really don’t want to. Believe me, I’ve tried and landed myself in more than one reading slump. So most of these books are going to be high fantasy. Let’s get to it.

(*whispers* Oh, and I’ve linked all the books to their Goodreads pages, so you can add them to your own mountainous TBR lists. 😉 )


BOOKS THAT HAVE NEWLY MADE IT ONTO MY TBR:

midyear TBR.png

Alchemists of the Loom: All I know about this book is two things: 1) steam punk, and 2) dragons. That’s all I need to know. And I think the sequel came out recently, or is going to come out soon, so I need to jump on this series bandwagon right now.

A Promise of Fire: Again, all I know is a few small details. I know it’s a high fantasy with a world inspired by ancient Greek civilization. And that’s enough for me to pick it up.

 Eliza and her Monsters: This book has been getting quite a bit of buzz, and what I’ve heard has very much intrigued me. I know it’s a contemporary with two main characters, one of which is an internet famous web comic designer and the other of which is a popular fan fiction writer of the web comic. I love books that involve fandom culture, so this is a definite read for me!

Air Awakens: I’ve seen this book here and there over the past year, and I never thought much about it until I looked up the synopsis on Goodreads. You guys, it’s about a girl who’s a library apprentice and secret magic societies. Books and magic and secret societies. Yep, count me in.

BOOKS I SHOULD HAVE READ ALREADY:

midyear TBR books I should have already read.png

The Dark Prophecy: I loved the first book in this series last year, but strangely I haven’t had the urge to read book 2. I know that I’ll love it, because I love all of Rick Riordan’s books. But, you know… *glances nervously at the leaning tower of TBR books*.

Three Dark Crowns:  This is the only book on my beginning of the year TBR list that I’m still going to try and read this year. Of that list, I’ve read the Ember in the Ashes series and The Wrath and the Dawn. The others, I’ve kind of made my peace with the fact that I’m probably not going to read them, at least not anytime soon – except for this one. I know the sequel is here, or right around the corner of releases, and I really don’t want to fall behind on this train. Soon…

In the Afterlight: I read the first two books in this series this past spring, but for some reason, I’m finding it difficult to finish. I’ve picked this one up a few times but it just hasn’t clicked yet with me. I think it may have to do with that I just don’t think the second and third books are as compelling to me as the first. Which makes sense, because book 1 is more character-driven (which I personally prefer) while the others are more plot-driven. I’m definitely going to read this one – there’s no way I’m going to DNF this series after I’ve read so much of it, and with the movie coming out besides. I’m thinking when school comes back will be the time.

YET TO BE RELEASED:

mid year TBR yet to be released.png

Tower of Dawn: I was over-the-moon ecstatic when I heard that we were going to get a Chaol novel for this series. I missed him in Empire of Storms. I don’t know about you, but Chaol has been one of my favorite characters since the beginning of Throne of Glass. I can’t wait to figure out what went down on the southern continent while Celaena was saving the world in the north.

Turtles All the Way Down: I have long been a John Green fan, and when he mentioned that he was writing a new book, I immediately knew I was going to read it, before I even knew what it was going to be about. We don’t even have a cover yet for me to display here, but I am beyond excited for a new John Green book. I haven’t decided if I want to pre-order a signed copy yet…


That’s a lot more books than I anticipated, and I really tried to narrow it down. 😳 Am I going to read all those books by the end of the year? Probably not, but it’s fun to think about all the books I’m excited to read. And helpful for the most forgetful person on the planet who will probably forget all these books exist when she finishes her current read. *cough*

That’s all I have for you, so have a lovely day and I’ll see you again soon. 🙂

-Abigail

Leave a Reply

